hermosa españa

The Great Mosque of Cordoba

The Great Mosque of Cordoba, known locally as Mezquita-Catedral, the Great Mosque of Cordoba is one of the oldest structures still standing from the time Muslims ruled Al-Andalus (Muslim Iberia including most of Spain, Portugal, and a small section of Southern France) in the late 8th century. Cordoba is a two-hour train ride south of Madrid, and draws visitors from all over the world. This construction is one of the most beautiful examples of Muslim art in Spain. It was ordered to build by Emir Abderrahman I in 785. Below the mosque, there are remains of the Visigoth Church of St. Vincent. Subsequently, the emirs made several modifications to it.

The Basílica de la Sagrada Família

The Basílica de la Sagrada Família (Basilica of the Sacred Family) also known as the Sagrada is a large unfinished Roman Catholic minor basilica in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain. Designed by Spanish/Catalan architect Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926). Gaudi designed the lighting of the Sagrada Familia to deepen spiritual allegories and not only to illuminate the space. He also used stained glass that provides emotional effects. Gaudi’s remains are buried there and construction is expected to be completed in 2026. his work on the building is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site. This construction is more than 100 years old and is one of the most visited places in Spain.

Alcázar of Seville

The Royal Alcázars of Seville (
SpanishReales Alcázares de Sevilla), commonly known as the Alcázar of Seville is a royal palace in SevilleSpain, built for the Christian king Peter of Castile. It was built by Castilian Christians on the site of an Abbadid Muslim residential fortress destroyed after the Christian conquest of Seville. It is a palace with various sets of constructions made in different historical stages. Originally it was built during the high middle ages and vestiges of Islamic art are preserved. This makes it one of the oldest palaces in Europe that is still in use. It is the residence of the Spanish Royal Family when they visit Seville and in 1987 UNESCO declared it a World Heritage Site.

Do you know the Games of Thrones series? Some parts of his recordings were filmed here.

Casa Batlló


Casa Batlló is a building in the centre of Barcelona. It was designed by Antoni Gaudí, and is considered one of his masterpieces. A remodel of a previously built house, it was redesigned in 1904 by Gaudí and has been refurbished several times after that. The local name for the building is Casa dels ossos (House of Bones), as it has a visceralskeletal organic quality. Due to the building’s location and the beauty of the facilities being rented, the rooms were in very high demand and hosted many important events for the city.

Santiago de Compostela Cathedral


The Santiago de Compostela Cathedral is part of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Santiago de Compostela and is an integral component of the Santiago de Compostela World Heritage Site in Galicia, Spain. The cathedral is the reputed burial place of Saint James the Great, the apostle of Jesus Christ. It is also one of the only three known churches in the world built over the tomb of an apostle of Jesus. The cathedral has historically been a place of pilgrimage on the Way of St. James since the Early Middle Ages and marks the traditional end of the pilgrimage route.

Santa Maria de Montserrat Abbey

Santa Maria de Montserrat an abbey of the Order of Saint Benedict located on the mountain of Montserrat in Monistrol de Montserrat, Catalonia, Spain. It is notable for enshrining the image of the Virgin of Montserrat. The monastery was founded in the 11th century and rebuilt between the 19th and 20th centuries, and still functions to this day, with over 70 monks. There have always been roughly 80 monks in residence.

Burgos Cathedral

The Cathedral of Saint Mary of Burgos is a Catholic church dedicated to the Virgin Mary located in the historical centre of the Spanish city of Burgos. Its official name is Santa Iglesia Catedral Basílica Metropolitana de Santa María de Burgos. Its construction began in 1221, in the style of French Gothic architecture and is based on a Latin Cross. After a hiatus of almost 200 years, it went through major embellishments of great splendour in the 15th and 16th centuries.

The cathedral was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO on October 31, 1984. It is the only Spanish cathedral that has this distinction independently, without being joined to the historic centre of a city or in union with other buildings, as in Seville. It is similar in design to Brussels Cathedral.